President reshuffles Cabinet

  • Shamu bounces back
  • SK Moyo new Media Minister
  • Bonyongwe takes Justice Ministry  

President Robert Mugabe has announced a cabinet reshuffle with the reassignment and appointment of ministers to various portfolios with immediate effect.

The announcement was made by the Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet Dr Misheck Sibanda.

The ministers that have been reassigned include:

Dr Ignatious Chombo – Finance and Economic Development

Patrick Chinamasa -Cyber Security, Threat Detection and Mitigation

Dr Walter Mzembi -Foreign Affairs

Dr Obert Mpofu -Home Affairs.

Simbarashe Mumbengegwi -Macro Economic Planning and Investment Promotion

Patrick Zhuwao -Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare

Saviour Kasukuwere -Local government, Rural Development and National Housing

Simon Khaya-Moyo -Media Information and Broadcasting Services.

Dr Christopher Mushowe -minister of state in the President’s Office, Responsible for National Scholarships

Makhosini Hlongwane -Sport, Recreation, Arts and Culture

The new ministerial appointments are:

Edgar Mbwembwe -Tourism and Hospitality Industry

Retired Major General Happyton Bonyongwe -Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs

Cain Mathema -War Veterans minister

Ambassador Mabhoyi Ncube -minister of state for Matabeleland South Province

Chiratidzo Mabuwa has been elevated to minister of Youth Development, Indigenization and Economic Employment

Thokozile Mathuthu is the Minister of State for Matabeleland North Province

Webster Shamu bounces back as the minister of State for Mashonaland West Province

Dr Paul Chimedza also bounces the minister of state for Masvingo Province.